Visiting George Clooney a.k.a. at Lake Como for a Day

19 June, 2015

It is a truth universally acknowledged that Lake Como is absolutely beautiful.  Whatever the season, whatever the time, however long you are there, there is no denying the overarching, unmistakable fact: it’s pretty good-looking!  (A fact which is heightened by the knowledge that yes, oh my God, George Clooney has a house there and he and his elegant wife have therefore boosted the gorgeous-ness of the entire Como population).

I took my time wandering through around the lake and gazing longingly upon the gorgeous villas which I will never come anywhere close to affording, and managed to capture these stunning shots of the Lake:

As if the villas weren’t enough to be jealous of (see below), I was able to walk through the gardens of some of the properties, finding small green sanctuaries of lush vegetation which sheltered me from the sun and made me feel as though I had stepped into Middle Earth.

IMG_0513

IMG_0510

IMG_0526

IMG_0566

IMG_0545

After my gentle walk around the lake, I caught the cable car up the mountainside to the nearby town of Brunate and was able to gain a birds-eye view of the lake below.

There wasn’t much to the town but a few roads and restaurants, but it was so cute!  Up the top, I even ran into another Aussie – the poor lady was trying to find her B&B and couldn’t make heads or tails of the directions!  Hearing another Australian accent in a small mountain town above Lake Como was certainly a surprise!

My Como experience was just breathtaking and I loved looking out over the lake, spotting the villas which I had wandered past in the morning.  Como is a very beautiful part of the world, particularly on a sunny day – all the colours come to life, and you can’t help but imagine that you are in some form of sophisticated travel film.  Definitely a place I would visit again!

 

Disclaimer:  To the immense distress of the author, the day trip described above did not in fact involve any sighting of Mr George Clooney himself.  BUT, I was able to be in the general vicinity (and by that, I mean suburb) of one of his houses, so that counts for something, right?!

3 thoughts on “Visiting George Clooney a.k.a. at Lake Como for a Day

Leave a Reply

